Reports

Digest “Ukraine in the world: review of international indices” 2013

Digest “Ukraine in the world: review of international indices” 2013

In 2012, Ukraine placed 72nd in the global competitiveness ranking, having improved its result by 9 positions. According to the World Competitiveness Yearbook, Ukraine’s
positions in the ranking have been relatively stable over the last 5 years (Ukraine was ranked 54-57, holding the 56th position in the 2012 scoreboard).

Ukraine occupies the 137th position out of 185 states in the Ease of Doing Business Index 2012, which is 15 positions higher than previous year. In the 2013 ranking of economically free states Ukraine is among 20 percent of the most unfree countries of the world (161st place among 177 countries).

Download the full digest

Short Review:

There are many various indices and rankings in the world today: global and local, comprehensive and specialized, regular and one-off. These indices measure various spheres, processes and phenomena in countries, regions, or cities. However, as a result, they all evaluate the successfulness of a specific state, region, or city in comparison with its “competitors” also fighting for limited resources: the money of buyers on world markets, investments, business production capacities, talented specialists.

The main objective of this publication is to raise the level of understanding the methodology of the indices that are most important to the country and to broaden the opportunities for use of their results.

The Digest consists of 4 chapters.

The first chapter contains information about general indices, mainly: Global Competitiveness Index, The World Competitiveness Yearbook Ranking, Ease of Doing Business Index, Index of Economic Freedom.

The second chapter consists of specialized indices: Enabling Trade Index, Travel and Tourism Competitiveness Index, Networked Readiness Index.

The third chapter gives an opportunity to read about recent developed by The Boston Consulting Group, SEDA (Sustainable Economic Development Assessment),diagnostic and benchmarking tool, that seeks to assess the sustainable economic development of countries and the extent to which they are transforming growth to improve their citizens’ well-being.

The fourth chapter consists of appendices: Graphic representation of indices’ methodology and list of abbreviations.

Отчеты

Сборник «Украина в мире: обзор международных индексов» 2013

Сборник «Украина в мире: обзор международных индексов» 2013

В 2012 году Украина заняла 72-е место в глобальном рейтинге конкурентоспособности, улучшив результат предыдущего года на 9 позиций. Согласно Рейтингу конкурентоспособности стран мира, позиции Украины относительно стабильны на протяжении последних пяти лет (54-57 места, 56-е место в Индексе 2012 г.).

В Индексе легкости ведения бизнеса 2012, Украина заняла 137-е место из 185 стран, что на 15 позиций выше, чем в прошлом году. В рейтинге экономически свободных стран 2013-го года Украина находится среди 20% самых несвободных стран мира (161-е место из 177 стран).

Скачать полную версию сборника

Краткий обзор

На сегодняшний день в мире существует множество различных индексов и рейтингов: глобальных и локальных, комплексных и специализированных, регулярных и единоразовых. Эти индексы измеряют различные аспекты деятельности стран, регионов либо городов. Но в итоге все они оценивают успешность отдельно взятой страны, региона, города в сравнении с «конкурентами», которые также борются за ограниченные ресурсы – деньги покупателей на мировых рынках, инвестиции, производственные мощности бизнесов, талантливых специалистов. 

Задача сборника – повысить уровень понимания обществом методологии расчета наиболее важных для страны индексов и расширить возможности использования их результатов. 

Сборник состоит из 4 розделов.

Первый раздел состит из комплексных индексов: Индекс глобальной конкурентоспособности, Индекс конкурентоспособности стран мира, Индекс легкости ведения бизнеса, Индекс экономической свободы. 

Второй раздел содержит информацию о специализированных индексах: Индекс способствования торговле, Индекс конкурентоспособности путешествий и туризма, Индекс сетевой готовности. 

Третий раздел предоставляет возможность ознакомиться с  недавно разработанной компанией The Boston Consulting Group,  методологией SEDA (Анализ устойчивости экономического развития страны), которая является инструментом диагностики и сравнительного анализа, применяемым для оценки устойчивости экономического развития страны и успешности преобразования ее экономического роста в благосостояние граждан. 

Четвертый раздел содержит приложения, а именно: графическое представление методологии всех анализируемых индексов и перечень сокращений.